Why neither of my cats are from the RSPCA

cat, rspca

I originally wasn’t going to get a pet cat at all. I was in fact going to foster cats. I applied to the RSPCA and they did a home visit, but our home was not good enough. Animals are meant to go to homes to experience what it’s like to live with a family, yet we were rejected for the fact we didn’t have a spare room, such as a spare bedroom! Surely to teach an animal what it’s like to live with a family, they aren’t going to be locked in a room alone.

We changed tactics and were going to get a kitten from them instead, so once again another home check. We were told we could have an older cat but not a kitten as we live ‘near a main road,’ when most houses are near a main road!

Needless to say, we now have Bluey and Bo from private sellers.

2 thoughts on “Why neither of my cats are from the RSPCA

  1. It’s important to know that there are many other shelters out there apart from the RSPCA 🙂
    It’s disappointing to know how picky they were being when thousands of cats need a home, surely they should be judging the potential owners on what type of people they are instead.

    1. I agree! I’m qualified to work with animals and everything, so I thought they would have taken that into consideration. I wouldn’t even bother trying to get a pet from there again. I don’t know of any other animal shelters near me which is why that was the only option I took. I’ve just found out that you can adopt animals from abroad and that’s what I would love to do next time!

Leave a Reply

